Demi Lovato Angry over Music Business

July 18, 2009 at 2:39 am (Tweeple Magazine articles by Jason Chu)


American Partnership For Eosinophilic Disorders Gala


Premiere Of Walt Disney Pictures Hannah Montana The Movie - Arrivals
Demi Lomato (@ddlovato), the sixteen year old pop rock singer/actress just recently made a tweet that shows her current feelings and thoughts about  the Music Business/industry. I say this because she’s an actress famous for being in the “Camp Rock” movie with the Jonas Brothers. Her music career is skyrocketing tremendously fast from the huge fan base she’s developed from her Disney T.V. shows, her music, and even her friendships with fellow young stars like: Miley Cyrus, Selena Gomez, Taylor Swift, and the Jonas Brothers.

So here’s what she said a little while ago:

ddlovato This business is so corrupt with a bunch of puppets being told what to do. I’m gonna be me. Love me or hate me, I don’t care. 🙂 14 minutes ago from web

I did a little digging online to see if I could find why she might have said it, and I have some answers. First of all, she is currently in the studio writing songs and music for her 2nd album.

According to a quote from Wikipedia, Demi says:

I’m actually recording.. well, writing the album right now. It’s going to take a different sound, so hopefully it goes over well. I sing a lot of rock, but this time I want to do more John Mayer-ish type of songs. Hopefully I can write with people like him. I love their music, it would be amazing.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demi_Lovato

According to Demi’s tweet, she’s planning to release her 2nd album by July 2009. Therefore, there isn’t that much time to waste if you want to have a top level collaboration/creative working process to make the best music for the album.  She probably wants to move in the musical direction that she’s inspired or moved by, which is “John Mayer-ish type” songs. I applaud her if she wants to move creatively in John Mayer type music (technically difficult guitar work for sure!), however, there is always “what the record company” wants. The record company probably wants her to keep the pop rock “Avril Lavigne” sound because they know that it can guarantee x units sold, whereas going with Demi going in a new style is a big risk (a la Nelly Furtado’s 2nd folksy album…remember that one?). So, it’s pretty interesting to see a Hollywood/Music star actually rant raw honesty on his/her twitter, however, we need remember she still is a sixteen year old teenager although really famous one!


Premiere Of Walt Disney Pictures Hannah Montana The Movie - After Party

So, I give her a lot of credit for sticking up for her music, creative stance, and trying to get that out there to the public/fans, and not what the record label wants her to do. Shows she cares about her music and not just about making money and branding her name. My guess is that her reference to “puppets” refers to everyone in the record company telling her to listen to and stay with the old style. In tough financial times, it’s always risky to move away from the tried and true and go for something completely different. I’m interested to see how this plays out, what her 2nd album will ultimately sound like? I asked her on twitter would she be willing to leave her record label over this issue, but I think it highly unlikely that will happen since she is already working in studio, but who knows? I wonder if she will tweet to her music star friends for advice? We’ll have to keep tuned on this one to see what tweet’s next!

Demi Lovato’s Myspace Page:

http://www.myspace.com/demilovato


~ Jason Chu

http://www.myspace.com/chodidee

http://www.youtube.com/Chodidee

Leave a Reply

