Long layoff

May 12, 2011 at 7:03 pm (Uncategorized)

Hey all readers (who may be real or just imaginary at this point),

I understand I have been away from blogging for what seems forever. Part of the reason, is that I have been going through a major writer’s block, which not only affected my music article writing, but it also made me a little fearful about what to write here.

The thing is your words represent you when you are a writer. And when you can’t really find yourself as a writer, it’s nearly impossible to fake it as a writer. I know, I know…excuses, but another part can be attributed to “burn out”.

I burned out a bit as a “music writer” because I kept writing week after week without taking any break (which can be good). The thing is, it’s true, if you lose some passion for what you are doing & see it as a chore/work, then you’re already in a bit burnout, and the only thing is figuring out how long till you get out of it.

Part of my problem was that I wrote all these music articles as freelance and for fun, and maybe also to grow a reputation as a good music writer. The thing is, after awhile it’s hard to keep doing the same thing without growth or reward (pay).

A good article can take hours to do, so that a lot of leisure time to spend on a hobby. The thing is, I’ve taken almost a year off, to recuperate from this “burn out”, but I’ve decided to write in my blog more about stuff that’s happening to me (or I’m going through). So, at least you get some “real” content in between my music related stuff. So I guess you will probably get to know me, the writer, a little better through this process.

Leave a Reply

